In Retro-Spect

In Retro-spect

 

I understand the concept of ‘living in the moment’. Truly. It makes sense as you have no guarantee you will be handed the next moment. So speaking on the levels of spirituality, wisdom, and good common sense, you should live every moment as if it were your last. Got it? Good.

Now, here is my conundrum. I love the past. Apparently, even though I did not realize it, retro appears to be my thing. Years ago, I was asked if I would be interested in joining a group of reenactors of the Civil War period, but it would be to portray the dances of that time. We would be called the Lawrence County Victorian dancers. At first I balked at the idea; I thought I would feel silly being dressed in garb from the days of yore, but I love to dance so…why not? I learned the dances of the Civil War era, the mannerisms, the culture, and now it was time to suit up. Yikes, I thought.

Let me tell you, when I first stepped into the clothing in which I thought I would feel awkward, I shed all elements of the present and gratefully sank into the 1860’s as if I belonged there. It was almost creepy how comfortable I was. Those years when I was involved with that group hold some of my most treasured memories.

I used to be invited to an annual event called “Hippy Days”. Again, I thought I would feel silly trying to round up articles of clothing from the 60’s and 70’s, but in the interest of fun, I decided to be a good sport and give it a try.

Guess what? Nailed it! I lost all sense of the present as I spun and whirled to the music of my childhood and teen years, sometimes in a maxi skirt and beads and some years in pants with huge bell bottoms and a halter top. Loving every minute of it.

 I am in the process of writing a new story set in the 20’s and 30’s, so of course I have immersed myself in the clothing styles of the times. While I have not totally embraced the look of those particular decades, it has whetted my appetite for throwback clothes yet again. It is 2015, and I jfound this this site that specializes in retro outfits. I couldn’t help myself. I just had to have a retro dress from the ‘50’s.

My granddaughter, Lennon Blue, can very famously rock any outfit from any decade without breaking her stride or blinking an eye. I have loved watching her don outfits ranging from trending to retro, but my heart clings to those throwback styles she slings on so effortlessly.

So, to those of us who cannot be confined to any one decade but embrace them all, I say let us wear them loud and proud. We are not just of this moment; we are truly made of every moment that has led us to where we are. Remember, as Lennon Blue wore, “Penny Lane made me do it”!

image

image

 

postscript: Regarding the controversial and much-talked about ‘novel’ Go Set a Watchman, I have just a word.  Don’t.

Leave a Reply

